Excited About Lunch

Bangalore Express, Bank

Posted on: March 17, 2013

Bangalore Express
1 Corbet Court
Gracechurch Street
EC3V 0AT

RATING: 1
PRICING: VARIABLE
WRITER: THE EDITOR
WEB: http://www.bangaloreuk.com/

If you happen to find Bangalore Express on your travels, I think it is safe to say you will not be eating anything from Bangalore, and you certainly will not be getting it any time soon.

Bangalore Express is India exacting revenge on the British. Britain’s infamous love of curry is given a firm slap. But it should be no surprise by now that a lot of Indian restaurants are a wolf in sheeps clothing with incorrectly spiced food, dodgy offcuts of meat and sauces that have no place on any continent.

Case in point, I must admit to having been to Bangalore Express a few times. My eagerness to find a local haunt during work hours evident the second time, when I tried the Afghan curry. My complaints were met with a “but why would you order an Afghan curry in an Indian restaurant?” from my colleagues. Point taken. So I turned up again, this time I ordered the old trusty korma. What’s safer than ordering a korma in an Indian restaurant right? Wrong. There it was again. my Afghan curry in Korma clothing. By then I was well and truly offended.

Number of Bangaloreans not queuing up to eat at this restaurant...

Number of Bangaloreans not queuing up to eat at this restaurant…

I have no objections to international menus. But stick to what you know people! Their biryani had chutspah, so why not stick to tried and tested recipes from the region and show us why Indian food is the nations favourite? Caribbean and Afghan curries have no place on your menu. Especially when the recipes are a concoction of your own imagination.

What can I say about the service, but that when we were able to wrestle a waiter to the ground to ask for plates for our starters(?) they returned 30 minutes later with 3 for a group of 10. You do the maths.

So Bangalore Express I rate you a 1 for hiding your biryani inside a field of unrelated cuisines. That’s me being generous.

By the way, I have no photos of Bangalore Express because I refuse to go there again. But if you do please email them to me or contradict me in the comments below. If you dare!

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: