Excited About Lunch

Borough Market – Editor’s Review

Posted on: March 20, 2013

Thanks Adrian, and well done for submitting Excited About Lunch’s very first Reader’s Review. You have just earned 20p for Comic Relief, but seeing as this is the first I am going to bump that up to £1! If you want to see more money go to charity, submit your review.
See the About page for details on how the donations will be paid.

I’m a bit of a Borough Market regular myself. On the coldest day of the year, I was surprised to find the market more packed than ever, as the legendary aromas just draw people in.

If you’re walking into the market from the London Bridge end, heaven awaits you…

Trust me, this could be lunch...

Trust me, this could be lunch…

If there is one thing I keep going back for it is the organic chicken wrap; it is simplicity itself with mayonnaise and sweet chilli sauce, but because the chicken is such good quality, I can guarantee you’ve never had one as tasty. Wyndham poultry sits in the middle market. You’ll stand there with sauce running down your hand, dripping onto your shoes, but I promise you it will be worth it!

It's ok, I'm organic..

It’s ok, I’m organic..

As I waded through lusty stalls laden with homemade cakes of all variety, I stopped in my tracks when I saw a sight that both delighted and horrified me at the same time.
Cheese.

Donations to Free The Cheese Fund made here..

Donations to Free The Cheese Fund made here..

There it was. Oozing out of sandwiches and gorged onto potatoes in quantities that had the lactose intolerant of us quaking in our boots. I watched in awe as a strange contraption melted the Somerset raclette off its surface, and seethed in envy as innocent potatoes were smothered with it.

EAL blows the lid off the raclette racket..

EAL blows the lid off the raclette racket..

This stall was Kappacasein and you’ll find it in the Green market.

The legend that is Borough, I salute you.

PRICING: Wyndham Poultry chicken wrap – £4.50
Kappacasein melted cheese sandwich/Raclette and potatoes – £5/6
RATING: 8

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: