Excited About Lunch

Victus & Bibo, Chancery Lane

Posted on: August 20, 2013

Victus & Bibo
Leather Lane Market EC1

PRICING: Lamb & Halloumi wrap-£5, lamb or halloumi wrap – £4
RATING: 10
HALAL

victusnbibo

Leather Lane is yet another of London’s lesser known markets, that appears to be growing in a quiet and gradual manner. The most popular stall appears to be the masters of the lamb and halloumi wrap; Victus and Bibo, who operate under a large black tent and tackle a queue that stretches out across the market every lunchtime.

My overground informant gave me the tip off, so I was there before any city type heard a single growl from their stomach. The eager vendor proceeded to adorn my wrap with a mass of spicy course minced lamb, chillies, halloumi and hummus. I’m pretty sure the wrap weighed a kilo by the time he was done.

Wraps in real time

Wraps in real time

The wrap was hearty. I find myself warming to halloumi more and more these days, as there is so much inagination going into how it is served up. Honestly though, I could have done with a bib for this one because they so generously piled the lamb high, that there was only one way for it to break loose when I tried to dive in. The flavours were delicious and there really wasn’t any need for them to add the extra chillies, which warmed up cockles I never knew I had! This is definitely a winter warmer.

If you find yourself in Leather Lane, don’t walk past this stall without trying it. It’s a meat lovers dream lunch.

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: