Excited About Lunch

Pilpel, St Paul’s

Posted on: June 8, 2013

PILPEL
Unit 5, Queen’s Head Passage
Paternoster Square
London EC4M 7DZ

RATING: 8
PRICING: Mediterranean Falafel pita – £5.25
WRITER: THE EDITOR
WEB: http://www.pilpel.co.uk

felafel

What a vegetarian delight! The décor in Pilel is quite dark and woody, but it’s very nicely laid out to cater for the arrival of hungry punters en masse. While I was trying to figure out whether I wanted to try this place or not, I was handed a crispy falafel dipped in hummus. Sold.

They stuffed a variety of ingredients into the bottomless pit that was a homemade, deliciously soft pita. There was hummus, feta, tahini, tabouleh, aubergines and of course plenty of falafel. The aubergines were quite dry and dark, perhaps they had been dried, but other then that it was all extremely tasty and incredibly filling. In fact a little too filling, I knew I wouldn’t be able to finish it when they handed me the bag, as the quite substantial weight of the concoction was bound to stick to my insides. But the pita was so soft, that it was definitely worth trying.

A quick word about hummus. I’ve noticed that a lot of places serve concrete mix when compared to other places (Haz, to name but a few). But Pilpel got it right. There was a nice balance of flavour and texture.

Try Pilpel on an empty stomach and you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: