Excited About Lunch

Nana’s Moroccan Cuisine, St Paul’s

Posted on: June 5, 2013

NANA’S MOROCCAN CUISINE
Stall at Shepherds Market
One New Change
St Paul’s

RATING: 9
PRICING: Chicken Pastilla and salad – £5.50
WRITER: THE EDITOR
WEB: http://www.nanamoroccan.co.uk/

You know summer has arrived when Shepherds Market returns to One New Change, St Paul’s once a fortnight. It’s more diverse then a United Nation’s pot luck party.

Once I tore myself away from the numerous homemade cake stalls and tasted eleven different varieties of chocolate brownie; I stumbled apon a Jamaican, Peruvian, Ethiopian, Indian, South American and a Thai stall to name but a few. The Jamaican jerk chicken was drawing me (and countless others) in, but after a complete tour of all the stalls, my eyes found satisfaction at Nana’s Moroccan Cuisine.

One poor little guy was serving an army of hungry and inquisitive punters mostly with tajines of chicken and lamb with couscous; but I reserve that kind of comfort food for cold winter evenings. So I decided to try a chicken pastilla; this is lightly spiced chicken wrapped in a flaky pastry, which can be accompanied by some of their very colourful salads.

nanas

Usually when anyone uses the word ‘salad’ in this country, I think “all leaf, no action”. Why? Because I need nutrition and a balanced diet (yes, that also means baked goods). So when I am offered vegetables in a salad, I feel like a revolution has occurred right in front of my eyes! Finally, some real food!

Nana provided a heartily delicious meditterean salad, beetroot, pumpkin or aubergine cooked in tomatoes and spices. The flavours were all that I love about Moroccan cuisine; simple, flavourful and healthy. I’ll be running back there again in two weeks.

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: