Excited About Lunch

Whitecross Market, Old Street

Posted on: July 20, 2013

WHITECROSS MARKET
Whitecross Street
EC1V 9AB

RATING:10

whitecross

There were some thumping good eats at Whitecross; the market made famous by Andy Bates, a Food Network regular whose stall takes inspiration from international street food.

market

We should be so incredibly proud of our London markets; where else can you find such a celebration of diversity? There were plenty of Indian bites on offer, alongside Thai, Caribbean, Mediterranean, German and a rather large Turkish stall which I was very happy to see.

No paps please, I'm Turkish!

No paps please, I’m Turkish!

I haven’t seen many Turkish stalls in any of the markets, probably because there are so many Turkish restaurants in existence. But Lahmacun is the epitome of good street food; it’s a fabulously satisfying thin dough like pizza with lamb mince cooked into it. They add salad and sauces, roll it up and charge barely a couple of quid for it.

juicy

The juice bar had some amazing concoctions that hit the spot on yet another scorching day. I recommend the melon, apple, pear, orange, pineapple and mint juice. I don’t think I have ever had anything so thirst quenching, it was gorgeous!

I must say I did wonder how the majority of lunch timers could opt for the heavy hot meals on offer; surely this would only lead to a mass of afternoon nappers? London must definitely take a dive in productivity after the lunch rush! I’m not terribly productive at the best of times, but I felt like something lighter so I joined the long queue at the Mediterranean salad stand.

salad

This “small” salad box for only £3.40 was filled to the brim with dolmades, guacamole, sun-dried tomatoes, tzatziki, red cabbage, wild rice, potato, chick pea and couscous salads. Not forgetting some focaccia on the side!

I find that the regular markets really deliver in terms of portion sizes and value for money, compared to the food festivals which are not so much about sustenance, but experimenting with different tastes and looking at where the popularity grows.

I have read an article or two about the frivolity and obsession with food that has emerged over the past few years, and I am baffled at how anyone can find anything negative to say about it. Tourism and as a result the economy, and the integration of our diverse community has been boosted by this very social development. After having to endure the fast food movement, which has caused nothing but obesity and other kinds of ill health I would think that everyone would be grateful for some real innovation in the culinary arts. If it produces more chefs than McDonalds managers, then I think we are very lucky indeed.

Bring on more markets and food festivals and lets drive McDonalds into liquidation!

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: