Excited About Lunch

Happy Birthday to me!!

Posted on: April 8, 2013

After a rather heavy birthday weekend of salsa, shopping, eating and more eating, I decided detox should be on the menu for lunch today. So back to Abokado I went!
I probably should have had the super salmon detox soup but I did have a gym session looming, so I opted for something that would carry me to it rather than drag me kicking and screaming.

When is a wrap not a wrap.. when it's from Abokado

When is a wrap not a wrap.. when it’s from Abokado

The bbq chicken pouch gave me the nod, so I thought I’d give it a try. I must say, I think the soup was better. Although it was substantial enough for me, I do find it a bit bizarre eating a wrap with rice in it and I’m not entirely sure that I am sold on the idea. The Editor does not promote the free mixing of carbohydrates. Next thing you know they’ll be serving rice with spaghetti. It’ll be anarchy!

Sorry about the teeth marks..but this is reality lunch!

Sorry about the teeth marks..but this is reality lunch!

The chicken was a bit sparse and not terribly saucey, but it is supposed to be a low fat healthy version, so I’ll have to let that one go. It was nice and toasty, which is always a bonus. In terms of value for money, you can get a bigger wrap from Wrap It Up down the road for about the same price, but you won’t be able to keep the calorie count in check.

It didn’t have the vavavoom of the soup but wasn’t bad as a healthy option so I give it:

ABOKADO
RATING: 6
PRICING: BBQ Chicken pouch – £3.99

After much deliberation (mostly on the part of my stomach), I have decided to change my rating of Haz to an 8. This is after a rather fabulous meze lunch at Havet in Bromley. I know I am only reviewing London lunches, but I think it is important to point out the differences, as we expect more from our London restaurants.

Havet deserves a local 10 rating. The decor is modern and incredibly stylish; I particularly liked the wall covered with different shaped Turkish evil eye pendants. It has the feel of a family run restaurant with excellent service and the meze is the best I have tasted. My two favourites are cicek ( a dip of goats cheese, yoghurt, cucumber and herbs) which is a delicious accompaniment to the lamb kofte kebabs, incredibly succulent by themselves. Not forgetting the cigarillo shapped pastries filled with minced lamb which literally melted in my mouth. Amazing!!

Havet is reasonably priced and they can do no wrong with the portions. If you ever find yourself in Bromley shopping centre, walk down to the cinema and you’ll find it on the opposite side of the road.

HAVET
195-199 High Street
Bromley BR1 1NN

RATING: 10
PRICING: Cold mezes from around £2.50 each/Hot mezes from around £3.50 each

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: