Excited About Lunch

Real Food Festival, Southbank

Posted on: August 23, 2013

http://www.realfoodfestival.co.uk/festivals/real-street-food-festival-2013

realfoodfest

It was bank holiday monday, and the food festival had already marked its place on the Southbank for the past three days. The day was gorgeous and scorching by lunchtime; I had no hope of getting a decent lunch where I worked so I decided to make a play for The Real Food Festival.

rff4

The Southbank was choc full of hungry punters, drooling over every stall. They were barely finished with what they were munching on, before their eyes groped another delicacy. For me picking the right one to start with is always a dilemma thrown down from heaven. My perpetual desire to try something new drives me into a state of sheer confusion. But this time it was not the case.

My eyes met The Frenchie’s and it was curiosity at first sight. I had seen them before at Whitecross Market, so this was almost paramount to stalking. This time I needed to follow through. So I stood there patiently awaiting a French man craft duck confit with goats cheese and onion marmalade in a brioche bun. He barely placed it in my hand before I dived right into it. It was food nirvana. Culinary heaven. I still can’t stop thinking about it. When I had devoured the last crumb, I once again realised that a photo would have come in handy prior to its demise.

frenchie

Confit is a Gascony specialty made with the leg of the duck, which is cured with salt and cooked in its own fat. It is slowly poached until the meat falls apart. The Frenchie’s brioche was soft and buttery, which they slathered with the onion marmalade and then added the lovingly melted goats cheese and duck confit.

I may not have achieved much that day and been a little depressed that I chose to work, but I sat on the gorgeous Southbank on a beautifully hot day and ate the most amazing lunch. It made the return to work that much sweeter. And yes boss, I did return to work. I have proof.

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: