Excited About Lunch

Abokado, Bank

Posted on: March 27, 2013

ABOKADO
74 Cornhill
London EC3V 3QQ

RATING: 9
PRICING: Super Salmon Detox Soup – £3.79
WRITER: THE EDITOR
WEB: http://abokado.com/

There’s nothing more satisfying than the opening of a new lunch spot in town. Abokado has only been open for a day in this location, so outside the door a female covered head to toe in a green body stocking alarmed passers-by with what I can only assume was a reaction to a spider trapped inside her outfit (and I really do mean head to toe; she could have performed a bank robbery during mardi gras in that get up).

What would a new joint be without a theme to hook in the punters? Abokado claim health and happiness follows a bite of their nosh, and will apparently lead to this..

I'll take the one on the left..

I’ll take the one on the left..

How very Abercrombie and Fitch. I’m in!
It was two degrees, my throat was hoarse and I wasn’t excessively hungry so I decided that today was the day for a Super Salmon Detox. I must say that the other choices will warrant a further visit as I am a big fan of sushi, wraps (shwraps!) and brown rice pots. But being a masterchef of Thai salmon soup myself, I opted to try theirs.

I dived into a coconut broth generously filled with salmon, shiitake mushrooms, broccoli, bean-shoots, glass noodles, peppers and ginger. Needless to say, I got my voice back shortly afterward.

Green body stocking not included..

Green body stocking not included..

Now, I have had this discussion with many people that I have recommended restaurants/take outs to; the problem is that there is very rarely any consistency in service. There are so many places that I have fallen in love with, that have disappointed the second time around.

If Abokado can retain the balance of portion and low price that they currently have, then they are on to a winner!

1 Response to "Abokado, Bank"

Guess what? I read your review on Abokada (weird name) and decided to go and try it out for myself. I also had the Salmon detox as I have been eating really unhealthily lately and the word Detox drew me in. They didn’t have any ready made up on the hot shelve but were happy to quickly make a fresh pot up for me which took a few minutes. It was really tasty and I had plenty of Salmon for the excellent value of £3.79. I am definitely planning on eating there again and it will probably be this week as I enjoyed it that much.

A very happy “Excited about lunch” reader !

Elaine 

Leave a comment

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

Tweetcited!

Post Filter: